Lego Boom!


Since David Beckham made it socially acceptable to play with lego again by endorsing it on Jonathan Ross I thought it would be a good time to see what I can tackle with it in 3D. Initially I had my sights set on a huge Lego Jeep and after nearly 6 hours of hit and miss I thought I should aim a bit lower and start smaller with a go kart!

This was pretty much a nightmare to put together! Managed to convert half of the pieces from an Ldraw library into 3ds and then edit them in Sketchup. Then created the other half of the pieces in Sketchup. After downloading the instructions from the lego website for the go-kart I set about putting it all together.

CLAY RENDER OF THE ASSEMBLED CART

REDNER WITH SIMPLE MATERIALS

FINAL PIECE

To create the final piece I carefully disassembled and arranged the lego pieces and created a series or renders in Podium, The renders where then imported into photoshop where I drew over them with my graphics tablet to create an almost cartoony hand-drawn look.

Leave a Reply

